Hi, my name is Lori Ann Blakeley.

Welcome to my Web site developed and maintained on my behalf by my father, Larry Blakeley. http://www.royblakeley.name/larry_blakeley/larryblakeley_photos_jpeg.htm

My father also manages the following Web sites:

Larry Blakeley (Contact Info: larry at larryblakeley.com)

Major Roy James Blakeley (USAF - KIA) (December 10, 1928 - July 22, 1965) - my grandfather

Leslie Blakeley Adkins - my older sister

Evan Blakeley- my younger brother 

A Web page for giving notices of interest to visitors here. http://www.loriblakeley.name/notices_of_interest.htm

Various letters and notes here. http://www.loriblakeley.name/various_notes_letters.htm

What my brother, Evan Blakeley is up to with his baseball. http://www.evanblakeley.name

My mother's walking club for the students at Cockrell Hill Elementary School, DeSoto, Texas http://www.loriblakeley.name/article_dallas_morning_news_jackie_blakeley20070601.htm

****************************************************************

As an update to the post on January 11, 2005 the following is the plan for Lori:

She will be at the National Institute of Health (NIH), Bethesda, Maryland for a cardiac MRI http://www.nlm.nih.gov/medlineplus/ency/article/003795.htm on Wednesday, February 2nd at 7:00 PM PST to be followed with a transesophageal echocardiogram http://www.nlm.nih.gov/medlineplus/ency/article/003869.htm the next morning at 8:00 AM PST.

This imaging will be used to determine the position or extent of the tumor in the right atrium and more specifically, of whether this tumor is operable and whether the chemotherapy has shrunk it any.

Post Date: January 25, 2005 at 12:50 PM CST; 1850 GMT

****************************************************************

Lori's second chemotherapy (which consisted of only Gemcitabine (Gemzar)) took place last Wednesday, January 19th. Lori was very weak and her blood work comfirmed that she needed to be hospitalized.

Dr. Konduri cleared Lori to go home this morning.

We love it when she is well enough to come home.

Post Date: January 24, 2005 at 9:20 AM CST; 1520 GMT

****************************************************************

What next? We wait for God.

Post Date: January 16, 2005 at 11:40 AM CST; 1740 GMT

Re-post Date: January 23, 2005 at 11:00 AM CST; 1700 GMT

****************************************************************

The following song written by Bruce Springsteen that I posted on the Web site telling of my father's life-story (Roy James Blakeley http://www.royblakeley.name/index.htm) describes what we, as parents, would like to do; but, we all should know that we - parents - cannot protect our children from everything - no matter how hard we try. Some things are just completely out of our hands.

"Added the following to Web page http://www.royblakeley.name/roy_james_blakeley/major_roy_james_blakeley.htm

And, of course - if you are a parent - many of us selfishly feel the emotions about our own young, as expressed so truthfully in the song, 'Souls of the Departed,' Bruce Springsteen http://www.royblakeley.name/larry_blakeley/songs/souls_departed_springsteen.htm

Post Date: November 17, 2004 at 12:00 PM CST; 1800 GMT"

Posted to http://www.lori.blakeley.name on January 17, 2005 at 5:55 AM CST; 1155 GMT

****************************************************************

What next? We wait for God.

Post Date: January 16, 2005 at 11:40 AM CST; 1740 GMT

****************************************************************

The pool of Bethesda here. http://www.lori.blakeley.name/pool_of_bethesda.htm

- "The Gospel According to Saint John," King James Bible http://king-james-bible.classic-literature.co.uk/the-gospel-according-to-saint-john/, Free Public Domain E-Books from the Classic Literature Library http://www.classic-literature.co.uk/

Post Date: January 13, 2005 at 10:15 AM CST; 1615 GMT

****************************************************************

Lori started her first day of chemotherapy at The Baylor Charles A. Sammons Cancer Center http://www.baylorhealth.com/Locations/SpecialtyCareCenters/Sammons.htm

Her day started with blood work, then she proceeded to Dr. Konduri's office to go over the chemotherapy protocol sent to him by Dr. Fojo. After that she went to the outpatient chemotherapy infusion area.

The chemotherapy intravenous transfusion was not started until around noon today and was a 4 - 5 hour procedure that consisted of Cisplatin (Platinol) http://www.nlm.nih.gov/medlineplus/druginfo/medmaster/a684036.html

and Gemcitabine (Gemzar) http://www.nlm.nih.gov/medlineplus/druginfo/uspdi/203038.html

Lori has already been taking Ketoconazole (Nizoral) http://www.nlm.nih.gov/medlineplus/druginfo/medmaster/a682816.html for 7 days and Lysodren (Mitotane) http://www.nlm.nih.gov/medlineplus/druginfo/uspdi/202377.html since December 29th.

Lori arrived home at 6:00 PM.

Post Date: January 12, 2005 at 7:10 PM CST; January 13, 2005 at 0110 GMT

****************************************************************

The implantable port procedure was completed today without any complications. Lori is sore.

The chemotherapy stage will be next - to be started tomorrow morning.

Dr. Fojo called this evening and informed us that the plan is for Lori to proceed with 2 chemotherapy sessions over the next 2 weeks and on the 3rd week return to Bethesda, Maryland for imaging.

If imaging reflects that the chemotherapy has reduced the part of the tumor that seems to be extending partially into the right atrium of her heart then they will continue with chemotherapy in order to reduce as much as possible out of the heart before proceeding with surgery.

Post Date: January 11, 2005 at 9:00 PM CST; January 12, 2005 at 0300 GMT

****************************************************************

Lori will proceed with the implantable port procedure tomorrow morning.

The issue regarding the right atrium described below is still being studied.

Post Date: January 10, 2005 at 9:45 PM CST; January 11, 2005 at 0345 GMT

****************************************************************

Dr. Fojo called this evening and advised Jackie that after further studying of all of the images performed on Lori since November that there is a high probability that the tumor mass may not actually be attached to the right atrium.

He will need to consult with their cardiologist Monday morning - who was out of town this weekend - for his opinion.

So, Lori's scheduled implantable port procedure http://www.cancerbacup.org.uk/Treatments/Chemotherapy/Linesports/Implantableport#2017 of early Monday morning will be postponed until we hear back from Dr. Fojo tomorrow about this.

In the event that this is the case then surgical removal of as much of the tumor as possible can proceed - to be followed thereafter with chemotherapy.

Dr. Fojo said that all cases of adrenocortical tumors are difficult; but that Lori's particular situation has been one of the most difficult they have experienced in quite awhile.

Post Date: January 9, 2005 at 10:10 PM CST; January 10, 2005 at 0410 GMT

****************************************************************

See anatomy of the heart at the Bartleby Library http://www.larryblakeley.com/library_research_commercial/free_ebooks/bartleby_library_ebooks.htm at it's Web page here http://www.bartleby.com/107/illus492.html (note: the last link will take you out of my server).

Information on Adrenal Cancer http://csrf.net/AboutCushings_Adrenal_Cancer.htm located on the Web site about Cushing's Syndrome - provided by The Cushing's Support and Research Foundation http://csrf.net/index.htm

****************************************************************

Adrenocortical tumor and other articles of interest here. http://www.lori.blakeley.name/adrenocortical_tumor_articles.htm

Post Date: January 9, 2005 at 4:40 PM CST; 2240 GMT

****************************************************************

"... He truly lived his life everyday, always a fan by example - a testament that many others can vouch for - and, I like to envision him feeling the same way about the eloquent themes of hope and praise in the verses of this sweet song, "Morning Has Broken", http://www.royblakeley.name/larry_blakeley/songs/morning_has_broken.htm .

... Praise ev'ry morning

God's recreation of the new day

Morning has broken ... "

- taken from the article written by Larry Blakeley located here http://www.royblakeley.name/larryblakeley/articles/articles_larryblakeley.htm titled:

"What was he thinking about?", Larry Blakeley, October 28, 2004. http://www.royblakeley.name/larryblakeley/articles/what_was_he_thinking.htm

Note: All images from http://www.royblakeley.name will require LizardTech's "free" Web browser plug-in viewer - just click on this link which is located at the URL:

http://www.lizardtech.com/download/dl_download.php?detail=doc_djvu_plugin&platform=win