Hi, my name is Lori Ann Blakeley.

Welcome to my Web site developed and maintained on my behalf by my father, Larry Blakeley. http://www.royblakeley.name/larry_blakeley/larryblakeley_photos_jpeg.htm

My father also manages the following Web sites:

Larry Blakeley (Contact Info: larry at larryblakeley.com)

Major Roy James Blakeley (USAF - KIA) (December 10, 1928 - July 22, 1965) - my grandfather

Leslie Blakeley Adkins - my older sister

Evan Blakeley- my younger brother 

A Web page for giving notices of interest to visitors here. http://www.loriblakeley.name/notices_of_interest.htm

Various letters and notes here. http://www.loriblakeley.name/various_notes_letters.htm

What my brother, Evan Blakeley is up to with his baseball. http://www.evanblakeley.name

My mother's walking club for the students at Cockrell Hill Elementary School, DeSoto, Texas http://www.loriblakeley.name/article_dallas_morning_news_jackie_blakeley20070601.htm

****************************************************************

One of the dear souls in the waiting room that was very upset by the news of Lori's unsuccessful surgery was Marjan Moshayed. Her father was having adrenal surgery. He surgery turned out successfully that day.

She has a degree in philosophy and she wrote this essay http://www.loriblakeley.name/marjanmoshayed200409.htm about death and loss of a loved one regarding the following excerpt from a poem by Emily Dickinson:

To lose thee – sweeter than to gain
All other hearts I knew.
‘Tis true the drought is destitute,
But then, I had the dew!

The Caspian has its realms of sand,
Its other realm of sea.
Without the sterile perquisite,
No Caspian could be.

Post Date: August 17, 2005 at 10:45 AM CDT; 1545 GMT

***************************************************************

A card of sympathy from Dr. Fojo and staff http://www.loriblakeley.name/card_sympathy_fojo.djvu. Lori absolutely loved Dr. Fojo - Dr. Fojo's words of love for Lori. http://www.loriblakeley.name/fojo_words_of_love.htm

I believe that Lori was led to Dr. Fojo so as to assure her in that final stage of her life that all had been done and that truly God wanted her home with Him.

Here is a photograph of Lori and Dr. Fojo http://www.loriblakeley.name/loriblakeley_photos_jpeg/loriblakeley_titofojo20050406.jpg that Lori wanted me to take for her the day before she moved from the Intensive Care Unit to the Inpatient Unit.

Post Date: August 12, 2005 at 9:30 AM; 1430 GMT

***************************************************************

And this is what Lori said to her dear friend, Ashley Devling http://www.loriblakeley.name/loriblakeley_photos_jpeg/scan20070515-014.jpg, with the knowledge that she would die soon - and just days before she left this earthly world:

"I am OK with this. I don't understand 'why,' but I believe ... I believe God ... is using me and my situation in some way to bring someone closer to Him. I have prayed and asked Him, 'Who is this person,' but, as yet, He has not answered."

This prompted the writing of the following article:

"I Believe," Larry Blakeley, July 4, 2005 http://www.royblakeley.name/larryblakeley/articles/articles_larryblakeley.htm

Post Date: August 22, 2005 at 3:15 PM CDT; 2015 GMT

***************************************************************

Lori, her mother - Jackie, and Jackie's mother - Billie are flying back to Dallas this early afternoon. The author of this Web site, her father - Larry, left Bethesda on Wednesday in order to prepare for Lori's arrival at home. She is still recuperating from the surgery and will be for the next several weeks.

What does Lori know about her prognosis? Yesterday, Dr. Fojo met with Lori and told her the same sad news that he told me, Jackie, Billie, her brother - Evan, and her sister - Leslie in a small conference room after the unsuccessful surgery to remove the tumor - short of a miracle, this disease will end her life here on earth.

How much time? Nobody, but God knows the answer to that.

Post Date: April 15, 2005 at 8:10 AM CDT; 1410 GMT

***************************************************************

Here is a photograph of Lori, Dr. Alexander, and Dr. John Abad http://www.loriblakeley.name/loriblakeley_photos_jpeg/loriblakeley_richardalexander_johnabad20050412.jpg that she wanted me to take before I left that morning of April 12, 2005 to fly back to Dallas and prepare the home for her arrival on April 15, 2005.

Dr. Abad participated in Lori's surgery. He is a clinical fellow with the Surgery Branch at the National Cancer Institute http://ccr.nci.nih.gov/labs/lab.asp?labid=93) and he tended to Lori's wounds from her surgery daily.

Lori's cross stitch project - "A Day at the Beach" http://www.loriblakeley.name/loriblakeley_cross_stitch_beach.djvu is laying by her side. Lori started this cross stitch project after being transferred from the Intensive Care Unit to the Inpatient Unit of the National Institutes of Health's Clinical Center. We framed it and left her needle in the fabric right where she left it.

Post Date: August 17, 2005 at 8:35 AM CDT; 1335 GMT

***************************************************************

My mother, Johnnye Blakeley and sister, Karen Blakeley Gallini, arrived at Bethesda on April 5th. On April 6th they went to the Vietnam Memorial and took these photographs:

- Mother and Karen standing together here in front of the memorial here; http://www.royblakeley.name/johnnye_karen20050406.djvu

- Mother standing by herself here; http://www.royblakeley.name/johnnye_blakeley20050406.djvu

- My father's name, Roy James Blakeley, inscribed on the memorial here. http://www.royblakeley.name/vietnam_memorial_roy_blakeley.djvu

Post Date: August 19, 2005 at 9:30 AM CDT; 1430 GMT

***************************************************************

Lori was moved from the Intensive Care Unit to the Inpatient Unit this afternoon.

She is still quite weak and sore from the surgery, but is recuperating a little each and every day.

We hope she is able to go home to Dallas within the next 7 - 10 days.

Lori, her family, her many friends, and hundreds of concerned Christians are all praying for the healing power of God to rid her of this terrible disease. Lori believes in His absolute power to perform a miracle for her - but, ultimately it will be His will as to how He intends to ease her pain.

Post Date: April 7, 2005 at 7:30 PM CDT; April 8, 2005 at 0130 GMT

My birthday is on this date (April 7, 1954). Lori, Jackie, Leslie, Evan, Karen, Jackie's mother, Billie; and my mother, Johnnye celebrated my birthday in Lori's room.

Here is a photograph of me, Lori, and a gift from her that is reflective of the character of her soul and love for me - "I Love My Dad." http://www.loriblakeley.name/loriblakeley_photos_jpeg/loriblakeley_larryblakeley20050407.jpg

Post Date: August 19, 2005 at 9:45 AM CDT; 1445 GMT

***************************************************************

Sometime after Lori was settled in to her room in the intensive care ward Dr. Fojo and Dr. Alexander spoke to her. They told her that they were not able to do anything about the tumor. She just looked up at them, listened to what they had to say, and nodded her head in acknowledgement when asked if she understood.

You see the tubing that was placed down her throat paralyzed the right side of her vocal cords so speaking became very difficult for Lori thereafter. She spoke in very soft tones so you nearly had to get right up against her mouth to hear. And, at times it was difficult to make out what she was saying.

Later on after everyone had left, Lori wanted to say something to me so I got a pen and tablet for her to write on and this is what she wrote:

"What happened?"

And, I leaned over with my cheek against hers, and my mouth close to her ear and gently said, "It is just as Dr. Fojo and Dr. Alexander have said." She just closed her eyes for a moment.

Sometime later on after Lori was able to speak she told me she wanted to say something to me. So we did the same thing, except her mouth was now close to my ear and she gently said, "Dad, if you need to cry, you can always go out to the waiting room."

And, from these moments on we both knew that each other knew that her Heavenly Father who would be calling her home soon.

And as for me? Well ... I am still in the waiting room.

Post Date: August 20, 2005 at 8:30 AM CDT; 1330 GMT

****************************************************************

Dr. Richard Alexander, Jr. http://ccr.cancer.gov/staff/staff.asp?profileid=5758, along with a team of associate doctors, began the surgery this morning as scheduled. However, they were not successful in removing the tumor. Lori is in intensive care under guarded observation. Her condition is stable and improving. They are not going to be able to help her with this tumor. Lori's struggle with this disease continues to be in God's hands. As you can imagine we are all very upset that the surgery wasn't successful. Jackie and I know that many others will be devasted by this news about Lori - known and loved by many. Jackie and I have known from the onset (as Lori has) that her fate has always been in God's hands. May the grace of God be with her always.

And this prayer that I believe my father recited before his death is the same one that our precious Lori will recite in her heart when she leaves us to go to her Lord and Savior - Jesus Christ:

" .... And, I truly believe with all my heart, and all my soul, that this is "what he was thinking about" in those precious few seconds - the same simple prayer that Jesus taught to his disciples just shortly before his demise here on earth:

Matthew 6
9 After this manner therefore pray ye: Our Father which art in heaven, Hallowed be thy name.
10 Thy kingdom come, Thy will be done in earth, as it is in heaven.
11 Give us this day our daily bread.
12 And forgive us our debts, as we forgive our debtors.
13 And lead us not into temptation, but deliver us from evil: For thine is the kingdom, and the power, and the glory, for ever. Amen.

And, this prayer was just short enough for my father to fit in, while sliding those 1,800 feet; but, yet powerful enough to soothe my father's precious soul, his final conversation to his Lord and God before being lifted up into His kingdom of Heaven.

And, then he was gone.

And, that is "what he was thinking about ....."

- an excerpt taken from the story, "What Was He Thinking?" http://www.royblakeley.name/larryblakeley/articles/what_was_he_thinking.htm written by Larry Blakeley and posted on this Web page here http://www.royblakeley.name/larryblakeley/articles/articles_larryblakeley.htm

Post Date: March 31, 2005 at 5:00 CST; 2300 GMT

****************************************************************

We were gathered in the waiting room - myself, Jackie, Leslie, Evan, and Jackie's mother, Billie Becknal - among others that were there waiting on news of the outcome of their loved one's surgery.

He, Dr. Tito Fojo, rushed in to the waiting room after a three-hour period. Jackie's mother, Billie immediately asked him, "Did everything go OK?" And, as if his distraught appearance did not already answer this question he replied, "No, it did not go well at all!"

He herded us into an adjacent room and closed the door behind us and explained what had happened. And, that room became one of the saddest experiences of my entire life. But yet, became transformed into a new beginning for each and every one present for those fateful moments of distress and intense sadness.

Dr. Fojo went on to explain to us that when the surgeon, Dr. Alexander, lifted up on the tumor for removal something totally unexpected happened. There was a gushing of blood flow that preceded Lori lapsing into cardiac arrest. Dr. Alexander and his team of surgeons' focus immediately changed to trying to get Lori's heart functioning again. As it turned out, Lori was transfused with over 38 units of blood before becoming stabilized.

And, the words from his mouth that left us all in disbelief, despair, and complete helplessness, "I'm sorry, but she is going to die."

There are many who have wondered, "What went wrong?" And, upon reflecting back over the events that transpired over the 6-month journey that Lori traveled with this dreadful disease I am a living testament to "what went right."

The conversation that occurred in that small room, the tears flowing in there, as well as in the waiting room by those that became aware of the news of Lori's situation, and the events from that moment forward were led by one person, and that was Lori, herself.

For I told Dr. Fojo, "I know how to raise children, as a father, but I don't know how to prepare one for imminent death." And, in my moment of weakness and insecurity from deep within my broken soul, I said, "Maybe it would have been better for her to have left this world on the operating table."

And, he looked at me - as one father to another - with a conviction of belief in Lori, and lovingly said to this grieving father in this moment of self-doubt in himself, "She will show you. Lori will recuperate enough to make it back to "Home Sweet Home" and, thereafter, die under her own terms." MP3 audio file/lyrics at http://www.loriblakeley.name/loriblakeley_music/home_sweet_home.htm

And, she did just that. She taught me, and others, in that short period of time just how faith, courage, dignity, and love were at the center of her wonderful soul. A soul that truly believed in these words written by the apostle Paul:

Treasures in Jars of Clay and Our Heavenly Dwelling http://www.loriblakeley.name/2_corinthians_4_16_18_5_1_10.htm

Post Date: August 17, 2005 at 9:50 AM CDT; 1450 GMT

****************************************************************

Lori wanted these photographs taken of her and her family before she was taken to the operating room.

Lori, Leslie and Evan http://www.loriblakeley.name/loriblakeley_photos_jpeg/scan20080207-0095.jpg

Lori, Larry, and Jackie http://www.loriblakeley.name/loriblakeley_photos_jpeg/loriblakeley_larryblakeley_jackieblakeley20050330.jpg

Lori, Larry, Jackie, and Billie http://www.loriblakeley.name/loriblakeley_photos_jpeg/loriblakeley_larryblakeley_jackieblakeley_billiebecknal20050330.jpg

Post Date: August 17, 2005 at 7:20 AM CDT; 1220 GMT

***************************************************************

Lori is scheduled for surgery at 8:00 AM PST on Thursday, March 31st.

Evan, our oldest daughter, Leslie (a photograph of the our children here http://www.loriblakeley.name/loriblakeley_photos_jpeg/scan20080207-0095.jpg) and I will be flying to Bethesda this evening.

Post Date: March 30, 2005 at 9:00 AM CST; 1500 GMT

****************************************************************

The following directive is no longer valid. The page at this location has been removed.

Post Date: May 17, 2005 at 8:20 AM CDT; 1320 GMT

Please go here http://home.covad.net/~lblakeley2/loriblakeley_medical_updates.html for updates until notified to return to this Web page.

Post Date: March 30, 2005 at 9:00 AM CST; 1500 GMT

****************************************************************

Jackie called and said that all the imaging has been completed. There will be no word on whether surgery will be performed until tomorrow.

Post Date: March 29, 2005 at 7:15 PM CST; March 30, 2005 at 0115 GMT

****************************************************************

Lori and Jackie departed Dallas/Fort Worth International Airport for the "pool of Bethesda" http://www.loriblakeley.name/pool_of_bethesda.htm today at noon CST.

Post Date: March 28, 2005 at 12:10 CST; 1810 GMT

****************************************************************

A dear friend of Lori and a fellow classmate at First Baptist Academy, Natalie Nixon, came by on March 27th to visit her before leaving for Bethesda. Here is a photograph of Lori and Natalie. http://www.loriblakeley.name/loriblakeley_photos_jpeg/loriblakeley_natalienixon20050327.jpg

Post Date: August 19, 2005 at 8:40 AM CDT; 1340 GMT

****************************************************************

This is all we know at this time - the information in yesterday's post - and the following:

- the surgeon, Dr. Alexander, has left his schedule "open" for the Thursday following the imaging on Tuesday; and

- the "return flight" itinerary has been tentatively scheduled for April 6th.

What does this mean? Surgery may occur on this visit.

Post Date: March 22, 2005 at 4:55 PM CST; 2255 GMT

****************************************************************

Dr. Fojo called and talked to Jackie. Lori is scheduled to go to see Dr. Fojo and have imaging done on Tuesday, March 29th.

Post Date: March 21, 2005 at 3:50 PM CST; 2150 GMT